Smart people are sometimes the dumbest people. Sometimes a smart guy is so convinced of his own cleverness that he runs over a cliff, and rather than to stop and reconsider that decision, he keeps on running because he is smart and wouldn’t do a dumb thing like running off a cliff.

I’ve enjoyed Jonah Lehrer’s writing over in the New Yorker. Lehrer is a smart guy: erudite, educated, and clever. He was just defrocked as a fraud when he admitted to fabricating quotes by Bob Dylan in his new book. So, he’s resigned from the New Yorker, and his name is mud.

And I’m left wondering why a smart guy like Lehrer would do something so dumb, and then I am reminded that smart people are sometimes the dumbest people. While less clever souls would doubt and question, some people would just charge ahead with the dumb shit because they wouldn’t do dumb shit. They’re smart. Right?

***

Something has happened today that has made Mark a quiet sort caught up in his own thoughts, and he has been out on the little veranda. I don’t know how to talk to him, and I don’t know how to reassure him and tell him that it will be all right.

This morning he was summoned into the HR office, and they heaped praise upon him, and said that their evaluations of his work and his personality showed them that he was worth investing in. So, they offered him a deal. They would sponsor him in University. They would pay part of his tuition. It would mean that he would come and work for them after he got his degree, and he would work for them as an intern during the summers.

So, when he came home he was all quiet, and just sat there and tried to tell me three times without being able to, and then he hugged me fiercely, told me, and disappeared out onto the little porch “to think”. When I try to talk to him, he just hugs me, and put his finger across my lips. So, I don’t know what’s going through his mind, and I’m a little worried to be honest.

I don’t like this because we talk about everything.

***

I talked about Glenn Greenwald yesterday, and today I’ve read quite a bit of his writing, and while most of it is about the ins and out of the political game, he’s actually fairly interesting. He doesn’t share my aversion to the score-card mentality of modern politics, and he comes out swinging against anything that goes against his principles.

I’m also reading two books at the same time. I’m feeling very split. I’m rereading Harper Lee’s “To kill a mocking bird”, and I’m reading trash-pulp fantasy in the form of Raymond Feist. Hey, if Feist can get published, so can I, right? While Lee makes me despair that I’ll never be as good, Feist makes me scoff because I can do so much better.

