teens_swimming2We decided to go swimming today after Mark came home from work. It’s been another lovely day of sunshine and heat, and we needed to cool off. Our target beach was a sparsely visited one that I know about.

However, when we came there a group of like two dozen of old acquaintances of mine had a “beach party” of sorts going, so we were quickly invited, and then had the usual ritual of explaining to heterosexuals about us two.

I’m not sure if I should be pleased or offended that the standard response from half a dozen of the people there was that “they never would have guessed” that I was one of those. When people come out as heterosexuals, you know by snogging members of the opposite sex, do people come up to them and say “I never guessed you were one of those”?

Since Mark was driving he couldn’t drink, and so we left after an hour. We left because Mark doesn’t really like crowds of strangers. He is usually like that. We can go somewhere, and if there’s a crowd, he’ll suggest we leave not long after arrival.

***

sociallyawkwardThe Asperger-guy in my old class was there, and he is extremely literal, and takes everything at face value. Irony, sarcasm, and sometimes jokes are entirely lost on him because he assumes that everyone is saying exactly what they mean to him.

Him and Mark got into an extremely detailed discussion about science things for about half the time we were there. Except that when Mark lost interest, he went on and followed Mark around to continue the discussion. I had to drag Mark aside and tell him about the Asperger, before he became angry.

He even followed us to the car, and would have got in if I hadn’t said goodbye to him. I always felt a bit sorry for that guy, and I feel sorry for him now. He was so shabbily treated in school – since he was considered weird and awkward and strange. With Mark he could finally talk to someone on the same level, I assume, and who shared his interests.

***

stress-cartoonSince our visit to the beach was a bit of a misfire, we took a longish drive around the place, and ate at a café in the evening sun, and talked about University again. It is starting to press on our minds.

I wheedled more out about him and the sponsorship thing, and he has basically come to the conclusion that it would be a really bad idea. He hasn’t changed his mind about that. He doesn’t know if he wants to work in chemistry for the rest of his life, and that is the sort of decision he would have to make if he accepts the deal.

I also found that he’d talked to Mum about it, and that she had agreed with him. According to her, he was welcome to come and work for them because the company was pleased with his attitude and thoroughness, and that German intern also liked him.

Fire jealousy on all cylinders here. So she was eyeing my man, huh. The wench. I’ll go there and pour salt in her tea. That should teach her.

***

The-Simpsons-Same-Sex-MarriageWe also did a bit of daydreaming, and talked about next year’s marriage. I love how he gets this happy note in his voice when we talk about that, and how he sounds so pleased about it. He seems genuinely awed by the thought of being married to me. I love that.

We’ve talked before about having the ceremony in Sweden. The legal stuff won’t be any different. We’ll still be “civil partners” in the UK and not ‘married’ because UK law transmutes any same-sex marriage into Civil Partnership. Yes, I’ve checked.

However, the ceremony should be worlds apart. While in the UK it would be a thing we did in a busy office with a bored clerk and a dozen other couples to do by lunch, here it would be a full blown ceremony.

Unlike yours truly, Mark also would like to do it in a church. I don’t mind. But Mark would have to become a Lutheran, and both of us are, at least on paper, Anglicans. I’m also an atheist, of course, but Mark is a lot more soft on this than I am. He’d like a beautiful ceremony, the full Monty.

How could I deny him that?

