Every violent criminal, dictator and warmonger in the history of the human race have used one substance that is dangerous when taken in excess. Oxygen. Therefore there is a statistically certain correlation between oxygen and crimes against humanity.

The solution should then be to ban people from inhaling oxygen, because it is certain to lead to war-crimes and gross human rights abuses. The link between oxygen and war-crimes is iron-clad – in contrast to the link between computer games and violence. Or, in other words, correlation is not causation.

They can write a million clever words about that supposed link, but it does not make it true, just like oxygen does not in fact cause human rights-abuses. Well, in a way Oxygen does because if you don’t breathe, you’re dead, and I know of no zombie ruthless dictator.

This outburst of aggression comes to you courtesy of an article in the Torygraph about how computer games make teenagers more agressive… It was not true about VHS, Jazz, television and films, and the bleeding printing press. And it is not true about computer games. Do we really have to have this argument about every damn new media that comes out?

***

The outburst may have come about as this evening I’ve been relaxing dropping down like a tonne of bricks on top of characters in a new game. Or relaxing and relaxing, it’s more about sitting on the edge of my chair as I am discovered while sneaking about, and then frantic waving about as I hack and slash the hostile foes while using language that would make a sailor blush.

Maybe it speaks to something in my personality that I like to sit on a rooftop and snicker as I inch toward the edge, and then flash my big knife as I drop down and plant it in the throat or the back of some hapless poor guardsman.

Mark came in earlier and asked why I was so mad. I wasn’t angry; I was happy. I am happy because I have a new game to play and discover, and it is so good except for the occassional crash. But the crashes are to be expected.

***

Today Mark sent in his application to Cambridge, so now there’s nothing for us left to do but wait to see if we’re called to an interview. It is actually a great relief, because there is nothing more we can do about that except fret and worry that we won’t get in. But that’s beyond our control.

We can either worry ourselves sick about it, or not. That seems like a fairly pointless thing to do, so at least for now it feels like it’s a weight off our shoulders. If we’ll feel the same in two weeks, I don’t know.

Now, all we have to do is look forward to our trip to Paris in a couple of weeks, and just slogging through all the homework we’re getting. But we’re used to that by now.

