Mark had a really bad asthma attack today, so I had to fetch him from the A&E where they’d stuck a tube down his throat. I’ve never been so worried in my life while I waited for the all-clear.

I don’t know what set it off. Mark is remarkably casual about the whole thing, which for some reason is very annoying. He thinks it’s nothing, but damn it is a lot, for me. And it is for him to since they rammed a plastic tube down his throat.

Hell, I don’t think I’ve biked so fast in my life when Mark’s mum rang. I must have broken the speed limit several times over, on that bike. I don’t want to think what would have happened if the police had tried to stop me.

He usually handles the asthma quite well, and there’s mostly no obvious sign of it, except that he avoid certain things. And he never leaves home without his inhaler; but most of the time you can almost forget that he has it.

Except today. Christ, I nearly threw up there while I waited in the lounge at Casualty. The worst part is that I wasn’t there from the beginning. It happened in school, and they only rang me after over an hour. They should have done it right away.

I shall have words with some people about this. Strong words. Furious words. When I’ve had a cuppa and a few hours to get over myself. I’m so angry. But what am I angry about? I don’t quite know…

***

While I was down at the A&E, I tried to read up on the news, and maybe it was my heightened state of alarm that made me zoom in on some commenter in the US that advocated having a “disown your son”-day.

Maybe that woman intended it as a joke, but it made me see red that someone can be a national figure while having those views. Are there really so many people who lap her “wisdom” up that she has a place on the national stage?

That makes me wonder if there will ever be a time when the odious filth that people like that are will be treated the same by the national media as I suppose the leader of the Ku Klux Klan is. I haven’t seen him invited to shows to give the “opposing view” about black people.

I sometimes wonder if it’s not all about calculation. While these people are considered legitimate, having their droppings on the front page is sure to increase sales or raise the visitor stats. And sometimes I wonder if the people who make a living off being “advocates” wouldn’t miss the days when they had people like Ann Coulter to feel outraged about. I mean, she doe give those people quote in the national press as well.

***

I have decided not to be too much on the net today as I’m far too agitated and my behaviour would probably be quite belligerent. I think I’ll have another cuppa, and find a book to read, or get rid of some aggression in some computer game.

