We were in London today, and I of course added to the huge pile of books that I want to read, but which I never do because I keep adding to the pile. I had an ambition earlier to stop buying books all the time, but as if…

It was nice to get into the city. I always enjoy going in immensely, and we walked around doing nothing and being silly in places like Hyde Park. There is a park bench there that must have heat dents now because we snogged on it for a good ten minutes.

I like snogging with Mark. I don’t understand why. I think there must be something wrong with me that makes me want to attach my face to his all the time like that, and being a bloody nuisance to pedestrians that pass by.

Still, we had lunch in a nice restaurant; we shopped for some clothes, and we went into a huge bookstore called Foyle’s that was mentioned on my Twitter earlier. Fortunately I didn’t get lost in there.

Now we’re going to sit down, have some tea, and just relax for the rest of the evening. While I enjoy going into London immensely, I also enjoy coming home. If for no other reason than that the snogging can become more adventurous and detailed. Doing what can be done at home outside could be embarrassing, and possibly lead to having to appear before a Magistrate at some point.

What I bought? The following books is now a part of the growing pile on my bedside table:

lastapestanding

The title alone made me want to read this book, but checking it out made it seem really interesting, so it was the first book to end up in by shopping cart. 🙂

Goodreads description: Over the past 150 years scientists have discovered evidence that at least twenty-seven species of humans evolved on planet Earth. These weren’t simply variations on apes, but upright-walking humans who lived side by side, competing, cooperating, sometimes even mating with our direct ancestors. Why did the line of ancient humans who eventually evolved into us survive when the others were shown the evolutionary door? Chip Walter draws on new scientific discoveries to tell the fascinating tale of how our survival was linked to our ancestors being born more prematurely than others, having uniquely long and rich childhoods, evolving a new kind of mind that made us resourceful and emotionally complex; how our highly social nature increased our odds of survival; and why we became self aware in ways that no other animal seems to be.Last Ape Standing also profiles the mysterious “others” who evolved with us-the Neanderthals of Europe, the “Hobbits” of Indonesia, the Denisovans of Siberia and the just-discovered Red Deer Cave people of China who died off a mere eleven thousand years ago. Last Ape Standingis evocative science writing at its best-a witty, engaging and accessible story that explores the evolutionary events that molded us into the remarkably unique creatures we are; an investigation of why we do, feel, and think the things we do as a species, and as people-good and bad, ingenious and cunning, heroic and conflicted.

*

cadetoftildor

For my quota of books that I’m going to read for pure escapism, and for no other reason. I don’t know why I picked up this book. I couldn’t give you an answer except that when I looked at it, and leafed through it in the shelves, I wanted to read it. And here it is…

Goodreads description: There is a new king on the throne of Tildor. Currents of political unrest sweep the country as two warring crime families seek power, angling to exploit the young Crown’s inexperience. At the Academy of Tildor, the training ground for elite soldiers, Cadet Renee de Winter struggles to keep up with her male peers. But when her mentor, a notorious commander recalled from active duty to teach at the Academy, is kidnapped to fight in illegal gladiator games, Renee and her best friend Alec find themselves thrust into a world rife with crime, sorting through a maze of political intrigue, and struggling to resolve what they want, what is legal, and what is right.

*

facelesskillers

I picked up this book because it immediately stuck me as really weird. It is a book written by a Swedish author, Henning Mankell, and this book is a translation from Swedish to English. I have read the Swedish version, and now wanted to give the English version a try. That said, it feels a bit weird because Mankell is a quintessential Swedish writer. It feels a bit like expecting to read say Shakespeare in Swedish.

Goodreads Description: It was a senselessly violent crime: on a cold night in a remote Swedish farmhouse an elderly farmer is bludgeoned to death, and his wife is left to die with a noose around her neck. And as if this didn’t present enough problems for the Ystad police Inspector Kurt Wallander, the dying woman’s last word is foreign, leaving the police the one tangible clue they have–and in the process, the match that could inflame Sweden’s already smoldering anti-immigrant sentiments.

Unlike the situation with his ex-wife, his estranged daughter, or the beautiful but married young prosecutor who has piqued his interest, in this case, Wallander finds a problem he can handle. He quickly becomes obsessed with solving the crime before the already tense situation explodes, but soon comes to realize that it will require all his reserves of energy and dedication to solve.

