I don’t really have much to say about what happened yesterday, except that it was a magical night, and I enjoyed it very much. Everyone was nice to me, although dad took the opportunity to toast me at the dinner and then held a thirty minute speech full of anecdotes from my life, as well as admonitions that “now that I was all grown up, I had to take responsibility”.

I liked most of the day, even the singing at school, although I tried to be cool and offer a bit of self-deprecating humour about it. I mean, aren’t we supposed to be snide about things that we actually like, but where we have to pretend that it bothers us?

After the dinner, and after the pub visit where my friends challenged me to a shots race that I lost because I ended up lying in bed at home with a ceiling that just wouldn’t sit still, and a husband to be that tried to tickle me while I was thus incapacitated. However, he was not very sober either, and missed, and fell on the floor – which made both of us laugh for ten minutes until my sides hurt.

Watson and Lady both came up to investigate, and Watson just stood there and looked at us, his little tail half-waving as if he wasn’t certain if he should be amused or alarmed. Lady took one look, and then went back down to her basket.

I received a pile of presents too. Auntie already gave me a smart phone earlier. Mum gave me a bunch of books. Dad gave me money. And Mark… In the restaurant he whipped out his present, got down on his knee, and said: “Since you can actually decide now, and it woould be legal and all, do you still want to marry me?”

He’s silly like that sometimes. It’s only the fifth or sixth time he’s re-asked. The answer is always the same. There’s nothing I’d like to do more. We could all go to the registrar today, for all I care. But our neighbours in the restaurant thought it was so cute, and one of the tables ordered sparkling wine for us. No, it wasn’t either champagne or cava, but some German fizzy wine.

And today it’s Friday, and school will be easy, and thank the spaghetti monster’s noodly appendages for that because this morning I feel like I’ve been put through the wringer, and squeezed in shape on the other side. So, today we’ll load up with a bunch of films. Yesterday we got the new sofa, and it’s time to inaugurate it properly with popcorn, films, a blanket and some serious snogging.

The silliness is one reason why I love him so much, because admit it, him being silly is very cute. It makes me all warm and fuzzy. Particularly when he goes down on his knees and asks me to marry him. Again. As if I’d ever change my answer. “Oh, sorry, I changed my mind. Still want to shag now and then?”

Mum and dad won’t bother us until tomorrow now, because they probably know what state we’re in. On Sunday they head back home to Sweden again. It will be sad to see them go. I’ve had a good time with them here, and would like some more time.

