To repeat, this isn’t actually a post about the film. I haven’t even seen that film, so I couldn’t possibly have anything to say about it. This is a post about a web framework called Django that I have been playing with for the last week or so, and which makes Mark roll his eyes. Then he kisses me on top of the head and ask me why I bother my little head with it.

DjangoUnchainedBut… I’ve told you about my magazine. In the midst of all the planning and running about I set aside a strand of my brain to think about the magazine, and I have that in hand with ideas and things for the first issue that is scheduled to come out in the middle of October.

However, a while ago I decided that I would also investigate doing the mobile phone thing anyway, even if the magazine won’t use it. And thus, I’ve been investigating this coding framework called Django. You of the IT persuasion that read this, and have experience, what is your opinion of it? I am still trying to wrap my head around it, and I’m going to set up a local apache web-server to play around with it a bit.

The thing is, though, that if I do then I will have to teach myself the Python programming language because Django is built with it and uses it for creating the web apps. Python looks simple enough, so I shouldn’t have too much difficulty in learning it.

What am I planning to do with this, since I can’t use it in the magazine? Well, I don’t quite know yet. But Django is a system for building web newspapers and content sites. Like this blog. I’m thinking that if I learn something like that, I can learn about using phones and tablets for things I haven’t come up with yet.

Well, that’s not quite true either because I have some nebulous vague thing I could do if I learned more and could utilise phones and tablets somehow. I won’t talk about details, because I don’t want anyone to steal my idea. 🙂 It could be quite awesome I think. If it even works. It could also end up like my game which I swear I’ll work on only to see weeks pass by between opening the different files to tinker for a few minutes before closing the files again.

