someoneiswrongontheinternetIf I have a character flaw, it is that can assume a lecturing approach to people who are just plain wrong on the internet. I think that can come across as superior or arrogant, but mostly it is just about the fact that… someone is wrong on the internet.

I do recognise when I lift my finger in order to lecture people, and most of the time I catch myself before I do it. Sometimes the compulsion to speak is just too great.

When I had written a 780 word rebuttal to a two sentence assertion earlier this evening, and when I looked up and saw that it was one am, I realised that I had spent one whole hour on correcting this someone.

Sometimes my geekiness just gets the better of me, and I have to step back and think long and hard about what I am doing.

It is of no consequence that a semi-anonymous poster on a board with less than a hundred active members post a snippet about something. I can live happy if I ignore it.

In the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, there is an immortal character whose life ambition is to insult everyone in the galaxy. Sometimes it feels like my life ambition is to correct everyone that is wrong on the internet.

The hour I just wasted could, instead, have been spent snuggling up in a book in bed, and I wouldn’t be pushing my sleeping pattern toward when Mark would gruff about it again. Now I just have to steel myself to respect my decision not to post the screed.

It doesn’t matter if that person is wrong on the internet. It doesn’t matter.

