I’ve almost had cause to re-evaluate my disdain for party politics these last couple of days. The reason for my contempt is that I don’t see a single party that actually believes in what it says, and everything seems to be about a PR machinery designed to offer the partisans with publicly paid jobs for the next few years.

Ed Milliband MP speaking at the Labour Party c...
Ed Milliband MP speaking at the Labour Party conference. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Once in their positions, the goal changes from gaining this publicly funded employment to retaining this employment. I’ve had cause, as I’ve read history of the Blair governments, the Tory governments, and the behaviour of the Liberal Democrats to become affirmed in this contemptuous view of party politics.

Then, enter Ed Milliband, aka Red Ed, who in one speech knocked off two billion pounds off the value of the biggest price gouging energy companies in this country. If you read the national press here in Britain you’ll see what I mean.

The Tory press accuse ‘Red Ed’ of Stalinism in tones of great outrage, and the left-wing press blink rapidly because it seems that one politician actually professes a leftist view.

That is highly confusing after the Blair years of triangulating the Labour party into the Tory heartlands of the Home Counties. The left have become used to PR and spin being their lot, and here’s this guy that unashamedly voices a purely leftist policy that goes against the energy fat cats of this country.

And who shrug when those billions of pounds are wiped off the share value of those energy companies with a line reminiscent of George Bush‘s “If you’re not with us, you’re against us”. And so far, the British public seems to be with Ed. I’ve yet to meet anyone who disagrees with the need to freeze energy prices for two years while the utterly dysfunctional energy market, that the Blairites created by the way, is reset.

Of course, it takes more to convince me to cheer a party. I still think that partisans are mainly interested in the jobs and the titles and the power. But for once, I can honestly say: Good going! Give us more left in British politics, please!

