Modern, spoiled kids like me don’t have it easy all the time. All the gadgetry I lug around on an average day should, by all rights, turn me into a true beefcake à la The Incredible Hulk. And if the zombie apocalypse comes, things will become really difficult.

This is what my laptop looks like, except mine is all black.
This is what my laptop looks like, except mine is all black.

Alternatively, it should bend me sideways so that I develop a permanent list to the left as I walk down the street. My school bag is one of those almost furry things that hang from my right shoulder on a strap, dangling against my left leg.

In that school bag, the treasures of Silicon Valley lie for the intrepid thief. I carry along my laptop, an HP DV 6000, an Apple iPad 3, my notepads, paper books, and whatnot. Don’t ask me what’s in my hand-bag, because I may just tell you.

I already had one laptop stolen off me when I was in college last year, so that should have taught me to lighten the load. Instead, I have added. Back in college, all I needed was the laptop. But now, I’ve added the iPad – and of course I have my phone.

This is my phone. Well, not MY phone. But it looks like that, with the white cover. It's a thing of beauty.
This is my phone. Well, not MY phone. But it looks like that, with the white cover. It’s a thing of beauty.

Scratch that, I actually have two phones. I have on rugged Sony XPeria Acro S for when I’m out running and doing physical things, and then I have a Sony Xperia M for when I want something more discreet.

Nuh uh, I didn’t write this post to brag about all the cool things I have, and about all the cool gadgets I just love. The point is that it is clear how vulnerable I am to disruption now, because while my school bag wasn’t stolen this time, I locked it into our car – with the key! Which meant that for about an hour, I had no phone, no iPad, and no computer.

Which meant that I had no courseware, no notepad, and nothing to do but sit and drool in a corner while the withdrawal of being off the grid kicked in. If there is, in the future, a zombie apocalypse where civilisation crumbles along with the electrical grid, I’m going to be so screwed. All modern, spoiled kids will be. The meek shall inherit the earth, indeed, because the rest of us will be electrocuted by our portable devices. Instead of Mark swooning on my arm as I prepare the shotgun to deal with the zombies, he will have to drag a drooling me around who weep for my lost Angry Birds app.

