This attempt at a self-portrait does make me cringe. But I suppose I'll get better. I certainly hope so!
This attempt at a self-portrait does make me cringe. But I suppose I’ll get better. I certainly hope so!

Both Mark and I have passed to the second round of this thing called ‘university education’. Neither of us had to resit, or pack up our things and leave the hallowed halls of academia. We’re set for a new year.

Next year they say that they’ll ease the binds of our syllabus collars, and the work will be more independent and research focused. I’m glad because I don’t think a tenth of the other students at the faculty want to study English. I suspect that a lot of them just took English for lack of another idea. They didn’t know what they wanted to do, and so they took what appeared to be ‘easy’.

I expect those people will drop off as time goes by because it certainly isn’t easy. It’s not hard either, or it hasn’t been so hard thus far, but you do have to put in the work, and if you’re not keen on the subject, it’s going to be a long slog until the degree.

This university thing is certainly not what I thought it would be. There’s this clique around me, Abbie and Ben who are here genuinely for the subject. There are other cliques like us, but sometimes it seems like the majority aren’t that keen. So, no fellowship for the love of poetry, language and the arts. More a clique who steals moments in the midst of the mundane to appreciate the finer things.

When they ease our bridles next year, and stop with this curriculum and unit-methodology, I think it’s going to be more fun and more interesting. If for no other reason than that I’ll be able to do more of what I am interested in. I don’t have to do as much compulsory stuff. I look forward to it.

This summer I’ve decided I want to teach myself how to draw and paint. I am an arty geek, after all, and I’ve conquered music already. And books. So this time I’m going to try to do drawing and painting.  What do you think of the self-portrait? Does it scare you? I can see so many things wrong with it. I’m not sure if that is the inner editor talking – a character one should never trust. I’m sure I’ll improve with time. Right now, though, my skills are quite laughable, as you can see. And no, I don’t have the yellow fever, typhus, or any other disease which gives the skin that yellow sickly tone.

