It has been a very hot day today again, and I have complained and whined about it, until I spoke to my dad who said they had 38 C in Sweden. Then my whining didn’t seem so proper any more.

The benefit of hot day is of course that everyone sheds clothes. While we stayed in the back garden, we could avoid the sight of our less photogenic neighbours doing so, and could limit our exposure to naked male skin to that which was appealing to the eye.

Writing that I feel so shallow and terrible and awful. Everyone is beautiful, right? Well, maybe. I’ll just jump over this part where I leered at everyone like a hormonal teenage male sex maniac. I’ll just conclude that I had nice decoration in my immediate field of view for a few hours, and that was another reason not to complain about the heat because removing the heat would also remove the view. Okay okay, I’ll skip the creepy leering and tell you what I’ve done today

This is an amazingly simple thing to do. I have done absolutely nothing except to lie in the shade, breathe heavily (from the heat, and not from being a generally very creepy and strange person!). I have even finished a book today, and as I was well and properly oiled I have basted myself to a nice tan.

We have also learned that direct sunlight is not very healthy for our iPads because Mark has followed the Commonwealth games while spread out on a blanket in the sun with me. He had to put it inside, or it would be ruined, and when he had to do that he abandoned me outside and watched the telly inside instead.

To celebrate our weekend of idleness, we corked up a nice Spanish wine and Mark made a simple Paella for dinner. So, now I’m sloshed, basted, and tanned here for your entertainment. Tomorrow we’re going over to Auntie’s for a barbecue which will probably last all day.

