Picture of me within Fallout 4
According to ancient tradition, when I play Fallout, I have to play a Ginger. Mark likes to colour his hair, but for some reason I can’t ever convince him to go Ginger. That would at least tick one box on my attraction laundry list…

The most immediate effect of a new Fallout title is that golden oldies become staple features on the playlist of spotty fourteen year old lads. Or acne-ridden 20-year olds who refuse to grow up… Which is the best thing, I suppose.

Suddenly YouTube videos of old Dean Martin songs, or Frank Sinatra tracks, go from a few thousand views to a million or more. Which is what has happened to this song here. It was uploaded to YouTube a few years ago, and have exploded to a million views in a few days.

I love it. My own history is that of the spotty fourteen year old who played the earlier Fallout titles, discovering all these great old songs through the game. And through the those songs, I discovered other cherished staples of my playlists. Everything from Ella Fitzgerald to Inkspots to Cole Porter.

The best thing, I suppose, is that Fallout is a battering ram that crash through that fourteen year old’s prejudices about ‘old people music’. They make the tracks cool because they’re in a Fallout game. So, that is why it’s probably the best effect that these games have.

***

So, this weekend I could indulge in something I do much to rarely these days. That is, spend eight hours in another world, that of a well made computer game. Last week, a game that I’ve looked forward to for years was released. Fallout 4.

Unfortunately the Gingerosity-level of my playthrough is hampered because I mostly look like this. Power armor is good. Repeat, power armor is good. But it does nothing for my Gingerostity exactly.
Unfortunately the Gingerosity-level of my playthrough is hampered because I mostly look like this. Power armor is good. Repeat, power armor is good. But it does nothing for my Gingerostity exactly.

***

Work have run me quite ragged this last month. I’m not much use after I come home. I’ve learned something about myself. I hate commuting. Now, on paper I should spend about 2.5 hours commuting each day. I find that I spend 3-4 hours going back and forth between my home town and London. That’s too much, and I don’t like it. But hey, that’s just something I’ll have to live with.

Commuting seems so inefficient. Why do they make 10-million of Greater London’s about 16 million people, plus people like me who live just outside Greater London, move into or out of the city’s confines at the same time? It’s stressful, it’s wasteful, and it’s inefficient.

I’m going to head back into the Fallout world now. I only have tomorrow left until I have to hand the game over to Mark again. I want to get the most out of this. It’s been so long, both since the last Fallout title, and since I did this with any game.