Mark’s mother and I have come to a compromise. I’m going to sing to her parish function. I get to chose the songs, but I have to keep it ”within bounds”. So, unfortunately, no ”Fairy Tale of New York” where I linger and really emphasize the verse that goes…

You’re a bum
You’re a punk
You’re an old slut on junk
Lying there almost dead on a drip in that bed
You scumbag, you maggot
You cheap lousy faggot
Happy Christmas your arse
I pray God it’s our last

Am I such a terrible son-in-law that I have these thoughts. Mark’s mum deserves much better, doesn’t she? I even want to ruin her function by singing lewd songs to her friends and acquaintances.

Singing to a large hall is very different than making a cover. The singing technique is quite different. In making covers I have to hold back much more, and in a way it’s harder to carry the tone when you sing softly than it is when you sing loud.

Singing to a hall, though, you can’t rely on a mic to pick up the tone. One has to reach that last row of seats, or pews in this case. One has to have the lungs to reach there. The technique is quite different. It’s much more diaphragm work singing to a hall.

Of course, one can cheat and have a sound system. Speakers then increase the volume so that everyone can hear. Then I can sing like I do when I make a cover and rely on technology. But… when I sing to a hall I don’t want to do that because singing to a hall is a challenge, and I want to meet that challenge and do good. I so rarely get the opportunity that, as now, when I’m offered I’m so tempted.

I am about to pack up and go home now. This is the last day I’m in London on this side of New Year’s Eve. I have nearly a month off now, apart from a couple of meetings at university. I will enjoy every moment, and maybe I can even be more productive here on the blog? Who knows.🙂