* The song choice is an extremely contrived attempt at a pun. Sorry. It’s Aaron Neville’s version of Schubert’s ‘Ave Maria’. It comes from the film ‘Alive’. No, I haven’t yet eaten Mark. I told you it was a very contrived attempt.🙂

***

It is difficult to believe, but I only have three months left of this internship. June 10th will be my last day here and now it’s nearly March 10th. And now I am the one who scoffs knowingly at the new interns who come here, and point everyone to where they should be going.

Closer to mind is the fact that I’ll be 21 soon. Mark has already passed this milestone, and did so in January. I will pass that mark on the 21st of this month. If we had lived a hundred years ago, this would be the year of our majority. This would be the year we could vote for the first time. Of course, we would have had to be upstanding citizens of good character and with property.

Mother is already pestering me about what I want for my birthday. Do I need anything for school or work or just as a small treat? It is always a difficult question to answer. I need a new phone, but that seems quite an expensive thing to ask for.

I have neglected this blog, haven’t I? I’m sorry. I always want to explain why, but the truth of the matter is that my life is boring. I don’t know much about anything else worth writing about. I’m just this student. What’s interesting about me has been told a million times before on this blog.

Mark is well. The dogs are well, although Watson has recently had an ear infection. George the cat is well. Spike the Cactus has survived The Great Fall well enough, and has acquired even more girth – and spikes. I am well. Content.

Every morning I go on my little commute. I spend my days ensuring that nobody has screwed up in a text. Then I go back home. Mark awaits, more often than not, with dinner. That’s about it. What else is there to tell? And isn’t that dull existence a pretty good thing for now?

Who would have thought this a few years ago when breathing kept me awake at night with endless thought cascades?