I know that I said in my earlier post that I wouldn’t mope about the result of the EU referendum. Purely from an economic standpoint, it’s actually positive for me. As dad puts Swedish kronas and Euros on my debit card each month, I’ve seen a rapid hike in my “pay” after the pound plummeted toward the earth.

I get about fifteen per cent more each month than I used to if this continues. Prices have yet to spike to nullify this extra cash in my wallet, although that is coming soon enough. For that reason, Brexit has been an economic plus for me. Unfortunately, that’s how it’s going to be, always. The likes of me will benefit; those who voted to Leave will suffer economically when jobs aren’t posted, when employment falls, when the imports skyrocket in price, and when investments plummet.

However, the moping aside, it is difficult to embrace my grubby little greedy hands about the boon of extra cash because the pound is hurtling to the Earth from a great height, when it looks like 150 thousand arch reactionary Conservatives are about to choose either a female Sith Lady (Theresa May) or a real life version of Harry Potter’s Dolores Umbridge to be Prime Minister of this country.

I didn’t actually think things could get any worse, but they are about to. Neither Theresa May nor Andrea Leadsom are people I would want anywhere near power. First, Theresa May is an arch-authoritarian who wants to steam open every scrap of digital data in this country to check if we’ve been naughty or nice. Andrea Leadsom is the Ted Cruz of British Politics; an arch-Christian who doesn’t like gay marriage, and who thinks that Theresa May is unsuitable for high office because she’s not a mother.

British People don’t like politicians who make hay of their religion. You’ll never see anyone who rashly waves the bible before television cameras to increase their chances. That sort of behaviour is more likely to hurt a politician than help. That’s why the devout Catholic Tony Blair stated: “We don’t do God”. That’s why Andrea Leadsom has sort of slipped under the radar for most people – but make no mistake, she’s a very conservative Christian. It’s just that nobody had ever heard of her until a month ago.

Mark and I have already settled on our immediate future. Mark starts his masters in September, and I start my fourth and last year before my Bachelor’s. We’ll spend the next year seeing how the winds go, and if it looks like the funds for research really is evaporating, we’ll move to Germany. Dad’s going to try to sell the house, or keep it until all this blows over. But we’re looking to move in with my aunt this autumn.

Everything changes, doesn’t it? I thought change would be slow, deliberate, calm, and considered. I thought our life was pretty orderly for the next five years. We’d finish uni, start to find work, have Mark take his first steps toward that Nobel of the future and me write the first pages of that blockbuster novel. But now, now everything changes at once. The economy crashes. The hard-right takes over Britain. The United Kingdom itself cracks. Even our marriage could be under threat if the hard-right decides to roll back LGBT rights in this country.

Our plans only hold up a few months ahead.

Screw this. I’m going to play computer games and listen to music.